Virginia State AFA Quarterly Meeting

Next Meeting is November 3, 2018
Hosted by the Steele Chapter

Embassy Suites by Hilton Springfield
8100 Loisdale Road
Springfield, VA 22150



Breaking news image
13th Annual Virginia Air Force Junior ROTC
State Drill Championship on April 28, 2018

RMA drill team imageThis year’s AFA State AFJROTC Drill Championship was won by Randolph-Macon Academy from Front Royal, Virginia. RMA had to overcome a major obstacle as two of their Cadets were injured in a car accident enroute to the event and had to be substituted at the last minute. This year's competition hosted 28 AFJROTC Units from all over Virginia to participate at Atlee High School in Hanover, Virginia. We again had the U. S. Air Force Honor Guard as judges and the AF Drill Team gave an unbelievable performance at 3:00 PM. This is the largest and longest running State Drill Competition in all of AFA. The Richmond Chapter is the host sponsor, and are partnered with the Roanoke Chapter who handle the competition side. We had a good number of Chapter, State and National AFA Officers there, and this year the spotlight was on the Virginia Air National Guard and it’s opportunities for Cadets upon graduation. Congratulations to the Randolph-Macon Academy and THANKS to all who helped make it happen.
Richmond Chapter’s 2018 Teacher of the Year
Selected as the Virginia AFA State Teacher of the Year

The 2018 Teacher of the Year for the Richmond Chapter, Mr. Helmut Thielsch, was recently selected as the Virginia AFA State Teacher of the Year. Mr. Thielsch, an engineering teacher in the Governor’s Academy for Engineering Studies at Lloyd C. Bird High School in Chesterfield County, Virginia teaches Engineering Design 1, Engineering Manufacturing and an Engineering Seminar in a curriculum that allows students to explore a wide range of engineering fields. Since joining the Lloyd C. Bird faculty in 2004, Mr. Thielsch has prepared many students for the rigors of college and the workforce by incorporating project-based learning opportunities into instruction in the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields. As the Virginia AFA State Teacher of the Year, Mr. Thielsch will now be eligible for consideration as the National AFA Teacher of the Year. Mr. Theilsch, will compete for the AFA National Teacher of the Year against teachers submitted from the other states and overseas AFA Chapter locations. While the selection process will take some time, the final announcement with be made at the AFA National Convention is September. Congratulations, Mr. Thielsch!

AFA National 2017 Unit Awards

Exceptional Service Award: Best Single Program
Richmond Chapter, President Harper S. Alford
Roanoke Chapter, President Scott Van Cleef

Aerospace Education Achievement Award
D.W. Steele Chapter, President Michelle Ryan
Danville Chapter, President Gerald Hovatter
Richmond Chapter, President Harper S. Alford
Langley Chapter, President Buster Douglas
General Charles A. Gabriel Chapter, President Joe Burke

Special Recognition Award: Chapter Growth
General Charles A. Gabriel Chapter, President Joe Burke
Roanoke Chapter, President Scott Van Cleef

Chapter Retention Award (Larger than 1,100)
General Charles A. Gabriel Chapter, President Joe Burke

AFA National 2017 Individual Awards

AFA Member of the Year
James T. Hannam (Steele Chapter)

Medal of Merit
Dallas Kennedy (Gabriel Chapter)
Nikki Barry (Langley Chapter)
Regina Giles (Gabriel Chapter)
David Hartley (Richmond Chapter)

Exceptional Service Award
Mark Douglas (Langley Chapter)
Harper Alford (Richmond Chapter)

CyberPatriot Mentor of the Year
Rob Karas, Battlefield High School, Haymarket, VA

Virginia State AFA 2018 Awards

Member of the Year
Jack Diamond (Gabriel)

President's Award
Harper Alford (Richmond)
Mike Winter (Gabriel)
Rich Shook (Langley)
Norm Brander (Northern Shenandoah)
Robin Thompson (Roanoke)
Tom Veltri (Steele)
Randall Kruger (Tidewater)
Dallas Kennedy (EXCOM)

Leadership Recognition
Bob Austin (Gabriel)
Chuck Heflebower (Gabriel)
DraJuan Alexander (Langley)
Jacob Satterfield (Langley)
Tim Donnan (Langley)
Alex Bustard (Langley)
DJ Baylor (Langley)
Chris Cordes (Steele)
John Robinson (Steele)
Miles Sawyer (Steele)

Special Achievement
Samantha Shelton (Gabriel)
Pat Rocke (Gabriel)
Lee Rizzo (Gabriel)
Mike Basla (Gabriel)
Lisa Richter (Gabriel)
Vince Wisniewski (Langley)
Ondrea Hall (Langley)
Tim Howard (Langley)
Chapter EXCOM (Roanoke)
David Uzzell (Steele)

State Teacher of the Year
Mr. Helmut J. Thielsch
Lloyd C. Bird High School
Chesterfield, Virginia (Richmond Chapter)

Our Partners

Air force
Cyber patriot
Wounded airman logo
Air force memorial logo
AFA mitchell

Contact Us
Attention: Virginia Air Force Association
1501 Lee Highway,
Arlington, VA 22209-1198
e-mail :
State Chapters
State Officers
About Us
Contact Us

© 2018 - Virginia Air Force Association all rights reserved.